Medical Cannabis

Medical Cannabis

Now that medical cannabis is available, we may be able to provide a recommendation. Utah is in the process of licensing dispensaries in Southern Utah. One of the most popular reasons our patients choose to use medical cannabis is to treat their chronic, widespread pain. In the US alone, over fifty million adults live with chronic pain on a daily basis.

If you are someone enduring this pain, the use of cannabis can make a dramatic change in your life for the better. More specifically, CBD is used to treat pain because of its anti-inflammatory and pain relieving properties. Medical cannabis can also slow a stop cancer cells from spreading throughout the body while relieving symptoms of pain and nausea. Cannabis also helps cancer patients increase their appetite, allowing them to eat a healthy diet and fight cancer nutritionally. There are several different options when choosing the best medical cannabis treatment for you, including topical solutions like CBD oils.

  • Initial visit: $225
  • Renewal: $165

Book a Consultation

Medical Cannabis has been approved in Utah for the following conditions:

  • HIV or acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Cancer
  • Cachexia
  • Persistent nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment except for nausea related to: pregnancy, cannabis-induced cyclic vomiting syndrome, or CBD hyperemesis syndrome
  • Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
  • Epilepsy or debilitating seizures
  • Multiple sclerosis or debilitating muscle spasms
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that is being treated and monitored by a mental health therapist and that: has been diagnosed by a health care provider or mental health provider by the VA and documented in the patient’s record; or has been diagnosed or confirmed by evaluation by a psychiatrist, doctorate psychologist, a doctorate licensed clinical social worker, or a psych APRN
  • Autism
  • Terminal illness when the patient’s remaining life expectancy is less than 6 months
  • Condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care
  • Rare condition or disease that affects less than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined in federal law and this is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts using conventional medications (other than opioids or opiates) or physical interventions
  • Pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed, in the qualified medical provider’s opinion, despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions
If a patient does not have a qualifying condition specifically named, they may petition the Compassionate Use Board for approval of their medical cannabis card.

Medical Cannabis Cards

Patients who are Utah residents may apply for medical cannabis cards with their qualified medical provider (QMP) in the QMP’s office through the electronic verification system.

The Department of Health evaluates applications and issues cards within 15 days if applicant qualifies. All card applications for patients under 21 years of age must be approved by the Compassionate Use Board.

Cards issued include the following:

Medical Cannabis Patient Card
  • Issued to patients 18 years of age and older
  • Application fee (amount to be determined)
  • Valid for up to 30 days upon initial issuance, then six months upon renewal (with additional fee)
  • Card for patients age 18-20 must have card approved by Compassionate Use Board
Medical Cannabis Caregiver Card
  • Card renews automatically with associated Medical Cannabis Patient or Guardian Card (with additional fee)
  • Criminal background check
Provisional Patient Card
  • Patients under 18 years of age
  • Issued and renews automatically with Guardian Card (no additional fee)
  • Requires approval by Compassionate Use Board Medical
Cannabis Guardian Card
  • Issued to parent or guardian of patients under 18 years of age
  • Valid for 30 days upon initial issuance, then six months upon renewal (with additional fee)
  • Criminal background check
Call Us Text Us
Skip to content